IT IAS Toppers

No-Trust Vote

By IASToppers | 2023-07-28 15:10:00



No-Trust Vote

Some members of parliament (MP) have recently moved a no-confidence motion against the government in response to the violent situation in Manipur.

IT IAS Toppers



[Ref- The Wire]

What is No Confidence Motion?

- The no-confidence motion signifies that **one** or **more MPs** have lost the **confidence** in the appointed government.
- In a parliamentary democracy, a government can be in power only if it commands a majority in the directly elected House or the Lok Sabha.
- Article 75(3) of the Constitution specifies that the Council of Ministers (CoM) are collectively responsible to the Lok Sabha (Lower House).
 - So, it can **only** be **introduced** in the Lok Sabha.
- The principle of **collective responsibility** implies that all the **CoM** has to resign even if it is passed against a **single minister** or **Prime Minister**.
 - However, Prime Minister is **not** bound to resign if the motion is passed against a single minister and **not** him or her directly.
- It allows the opposition to challenge the government's majority and ability to govern.

Procedure for No-Confidence Motion:

- Any **Member of Parliament (MP)** of Lok Sabha who gets the **support of 50 members**, can introduce a motion of **no-confidence** against the CoM, at any **time**.
- The motion must be in the written form, **signed by** the **members**, and **submitted** to the **Speaker** of the Lok Sabha on a sitting day.
- The member must provide **written notice** of the motion before **10 am**, and the Speaker should read it in the House.
- According to the **rules of procedure** of **Lok Sabha**, the **Speaker** shall **specify** the **date** on which the debate would begin.
 - This date should be **within 10 days** from the date the motion was accepted in the House.
- It is followed by a **discussion** on the motion.
- Article 74 of the Indian constitution specifies that the Prime Minister (PM) is the head of the Council of Ministers.
 - Thus, the **PM responds** to the **debate** whenever MPs discuss a no-confidence motion.
- MPs who support the motion highlights the government's shortcomings, and the Treasury



Benches respond to the issues raised by them.

- After the debate, the Lok Sabha **votes** on the motion.
- If the motion is passed, the government must resign.
- If the **government wins** the **vote**, the motion is **defeated**, and the government **remains** in the power.

Purpose of a no-confidence motion:

- It has historically been used as a strategic tool to force a discussion on a certain topic or issue.
- It helps to test the collective responsibility of the government.
- It helps to establish the accountability of the government.
- It challenges the government even after it has won a majority after election.
- It helps the opposition to ask the PM to reply to the charges and debate in the parliament.

History of No-confidence motion in India:

- 27 no-confidence motions have been moved since Independence.
- The first motion of no confidence was moved by Acharya J B Kriplani against the government during the third Lok Sabha in 1963.
- Most no-confidence motions were defeated, with the exception of Prime Minister's resignation before voting in 1979, and the loss by one vote in 1999.
- The most recent motion was moved against the government in 2018.