IT IAS Toppers

Yaounde Declaration

By iastoppers | 2024-03-12 15:40:00



Key Facts

Yaounde Declaration

11 African countries recently signed the **Yaoundé Declaration** at a conference co-hosted by the **WHO** and the **Government of Cameroon** in **Yaoundé, Cameroon**.

IT IAS Toppers



[ref-DTE]

About the Yaounde Declaration:

- The Yaounde Declaration aims to sustainably and equitably address **malarial infections** in the African region.
- The signatories, including Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Ghana, Mali, Mozambique, Niger, Nigeria, Sudan, Uganda, and Tanzania, commit to increase the domestic funding for malaria control programmes, invest in data technology, apply the latest technical guidance for malaria control and elimination, and allocate 15% of their annual budgets to strengthen the health sector.
- It also emphasizes observing changing ecology and vector behavior, ensuring better and quality access to health services, adequately handling humanitarian crises, and addressing biological threats such as insecticide, drug resistance, and emerging malaria vectors.